Kritzinger Safari Award Lecture

The Kritzinger Safari Award Lecture is a prestigious named lecture in honour of the late Dr Michiel Kritzinger. He distinguished himself as a pioneer in modern refractive surgery and identified the need to promote the subspecialty. As part of his efforts to further the field of refractive sugery, he originally instituted the lecture as the “Safari Lecture” in 1999 during a local meeting of the ISRS in Swaziland. After his passing in April 2000, the lecture was renamed to the Kritzinger Safari Lecture. Recipients of this award lecture have to exhibit the same character traits which Dr Kritzinger was known for, namely to be an original thinker and innovator, demonstrate the same leadership and perseverance, as well as show the energy so typical of him. Furthermore the recipient has to make a significant contribution to the field of refractive surgery.

Previous recipients of the lecture were:
1999 Klaus Ditzen
2000 J Charles Casebeer
2001 Andries A Stulting
2002 Michael Knorz
2003 Charles Claoué
2005 George O Waring III
2007 Stephen Updegraff
2009 Johan A De Lange
2011 Spencer P Thornton, MD
2015 Guy M Kezirian, MD Read
2017 Hideharu Fukasaku, MD Read
2019 Mr Arthur B Cummings